White Cuddle Rose Easter Bunny

2018 Sew Stitchery Expo

I took the beach house and headed up to Puyallup, WA a few weeks ago to attend the Sewing and Stitchery Expo.  The shopping was incredible, and there were way too many seminars to choose from!  I went home with a multitude of  patterns, tools, and ideas to keep me busy for a couple years:)

I’m in Love with the Bunny!

I fell in love with the purple cuddle rose rabbit that was sitting in the  Carol’s Zoo  booth.  The pattern was purchased, and I finished the rabbit a couple weeks ago.  The rabbit was made from Shannon cuddle rose fabric in snow white, and the eyes and nose were purchased from Carol’s Zoo.  They can also be purchased in bulk online.  Carol had made plastic templates of her patterns, so I bought the plastic at Joann’s thinking it would be easier to use than paper for tracing the patterns onto cuddle, minky and fur fabrics.

The plastic templates were perfect and made tracing very easy.

A minky and cuddle workshop was offered at the expo where participants were given many helpful ideas for working with these fabrics.  Since the fabrics are slippery, the presenter suggested using lots of pins or clips.  I purchased a box of Clover’s Wonder Clips and was very pleased with them.  I probably over clipped the rabbit, but it didn’t slip while sewing.  After the rabbit was sewn together, it was stuffed with just enough fiber fill to give it shape, but loosely enough to cuddle with.  A yellow ribbon was chosen for Gymhawk colors, and it works for Easter too. The Easter card was made with my Silhouette Cameo.

Best Friends Forever!

The rabbit was shipped to its new home in Iowa and is now best friends with the most well loved green bunny.  Fourteen years ago the ER nurses gave the green rabbit to Misty-Jade after she broke her elbow.   The rabbit has been to every gymnastics meet since, traveled all over the country, and rescued several times after being left in stores.  She now has her own ID tag!   I only wish I could thank the nurses who gave the rabbit to her.  The rabbit helped Misty-Jade get through surgery, a year of physical therapy, and a change in gyms.

Leave a comment